

Wednesday, July 10, 2024

Attending: Todd Wiesehan (Christian), Kim Kinder (Dade), John Crawford (Dallas), Hollie Elliott (Dallas), Joel Keller (Greene), Mark Webb (Greene), Jon Holmes (Lawrence), Tim Selvey (Lawrence), Randy Reed (Stone), Chris Daugherty (Stone), Hank Smythe (Stone), Matt Briand (Taney), Stan Whitehurst (Webster), Sam Rost (Webster)

Frank Miller (MoDOT), Brad Kelley (MoDOT), Beth Schaller (MoDOT), Kayla Leonard (MoDOT), Jason Ray (SMCOG), Aishwarya Shrestha (SMCOG), Courtney Pinkham (SMCOG), Pratika Banjara (SMCOG), Erin Engelmeyer (Senator Hawley), Tucker Jobe (Senator Schmidt), David Knaut (OTO), Kevin Kelly (Bolivar), Ricky Wolf (Lawrence)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Todd Wiesehan.

1. Introductions and Pledge

Self-introductions were made.

2. Approval of the agenda

Motion to approve the agenda made by Randy Reed motion, seconded by Mark Webb. All ayes. Motion carried.

3. Election of 2024 – 2025 TAC Chair and Vice-Chair

Motion to elect Todd Wiesehan as Chair and John Holmes as Vice Chair by Randy Reed, motion seconded by Kim Kinder. All ayes. Motion carried.

4. Approval of March 13, 2024 Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve March 13, 2024, meeting minutes made by Randy Reed, motion seconded by John Holmes. All ayes. Motion carried.

5. 2024 Bike and Pedestrian Prioritization

Aishwarya Shrestha presented the top 2 needs for each county. TAC members and MoDOT staff provided input throughout the presentation. TAC members ranked the top 10 bike and ped regional needs.

Motion to rank bike/peds needs on Rt. 83 in Bolivar (Polk #1) as regional priority number one. Motion made by Randy Reed and seconded by Matt Briand. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Hwy 65 in Buffalo (Dallas #1) as regional priority number two. Motion made by John Crawford and seconded by Randy Reed. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Rt. 112 in Roaring River State Park (Barry #1) as regional priority number three. Motion made by Kim Kinder and seconded by Tim Selvey. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Rt. 13 in Kimberling City (Stone #1) as regional priority number four. Motion made by Randy Reed and seconded by Hollie Elliott. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Rt. 125 in Fair Grove (Greene #1) as regional priority number five. Motion made by Hollie Elliott and seconded by J. Howard Fisk. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Rt. 160 in Greenfield (Dade #1) as regional priority number six. Motion made by Kim Kinder and seconded by Tim Selvey. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs Rt. 76 in Branson (Taney #1) as regional priority number seven. Motion made by Randy Reed and seconded by Hollie Elliott. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Hwy FF/PP in Fordland (Webster #1) as regional priority number eight. Motion made by John Crawford and seconded by Randy Reed. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Kentling Road in Highlandville (Christian #1) as regional priority number nine. Motion made by Randy Reed and seconded by Hollie Elliott. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion to rank bike/ped needs on Rt. 39 in Miller (Lawrence #1) as regional priority number ten. Motion made by Tim Selvey and seconded by Randy Reed All ayes. Motion carried.

6. SMCOG Staff Update

Jason Ray stated that SMCOG's Executive Committee has approved creating a Multi-Modal Transportation Advisory Committee (MMTAC) that would be separate from this TAC. SMCOG will create new bylaws for MMTAC and ask the Board to appoint individuals to this committee. Jason mentioned that the MMTAC will focus on rail, aviation, transit, and trails. MMTAC will meet a minimum of 4 times a year. There is a requirement that the MMTAC and TAC jointly meet once a year. Jason stated the Executive Committee approved the formation of a MMTAC and is hoping to get the TAC's endorsement. Motion to approve to endorse the MMTAC made by Randy Reed, motion seconded by J. Howard Fisk. All ayes. Motion carried.

Aishwarya Shrestha mentioned that we will be prioritizing road and bridge needs on August 14 TAC meeting at the Library Center. This meeting will be followed by MoDOT's High Priority Unfunded Needs List Public Meeting at the same location at 10:30 am.

Aishwarya highlighted MoDOT's tentative call for projects 2024 dates for Traffic Engineering Assistance Program (TEAP) and Regional Bridge Program (BRO/BFP). She also highlighted the Charging and Fueling Infrastructure (CFI) Program and requested to provide respective community input to SMCOG Grant Administrators Kelsi Burton and Garrett Colony.

Aishwarya highlighted the 2024 Transportation Alternatives Program's selected projects for the Southwest District. She stated that out of nine selected projects, four projects were in the SMCOG region.

Aishwarya presented the TAC meeting schedule for 2024-2025.

7. MoDOT Update

Frank Miller introduced Kayla Leonard, intern at MoDOT, she is attending College of the Ozarks and grew up in Seymour. The Commission is meeting today to approve the STIP. The unfunded needs list will go out for public comment later this month, they will also have in-person meetings. He mentioned that the state legislators use this list to determine funding.

Beth Schaller stated they are finishing sidewalk improvements to meet ADA compliance. Current projects are on schedule. The mowing cycle has been drawn out due to funding that must be spent. They prioritized a few asphalt projects and postponed the mowing schedule for this reason. Please be cautious in work zones and especially moving work zones.

8. MPO Update

David Knaut mentioned they are excited about the funding in the state budget for the I-44 improvements. They have a current call for TAP projects.

9. Legislative Reports

Erin Engelmeyer with Senator Hawley's Office stated that the Senate is in session. She reminded everyone to reach out if they need anything or have concerns to the Senator.

10. Other Member Updates & Guest Reports

None.

11. Other Business

None.

12. Adjourn by Chair The meeting was adjourned by Chair Todd Wiesehan.

The next meeting will be on August 14, 2024.